Nalandabodhi Halifax Study Group Hinayana ClassThe Nalandabodhi Study Curriculum is a comprehensive series of courses that presents the complete journey of the Buddhist path. Learning sessions are based on textbooks containing original teachings by The Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, Khenpo Tsultrim Gyamtso Rinpoche, and other Nalandabodhi teachers.

Adapted for Western students from traditional Tibetan educational systems, the curriculum provides a thorough grounding in the philosophical disciplines of the Kagyu and Nyingma traditions. Courses include:

  1. Introduction to Buddhism
  2. Hinayana: The Path of the Noble Ones
  3. Mahayana: Compassion without Limit
  4. Vajrayana View: Devotion and Enlightenment

Introduction to Buddhism (Nalandabodhi Study Curriculum 100 Level) is an introductory course that explores the basic principles underlying all the different schools of Buddhism, laying the foundation for deeper studies in subsequent courses. These classes cover topics such as the life of the Buddha, the causes of suffering and it’s cessation, the emotions, the practice of mindfulness, karma, rebirth and selflessness. This course also introduces students to the fundamentals of Buddhist meditative practices.

Hinayana: The Path of the Noble Ones (Nalandabodhi Study Curriculum 200 Level) consists of two courses. The first two courses, Science of Mind/Discovering the Heart of Renunciation and The Basic Journey, cover the Hinayana View. Topics include the four seals, the four noble truths, the five skandhas, interdependence and emptiness, and the Vaibhashika and Sautrantika philosophical schools. The final two courses introduce the Hinayana Path: shamatha and analytical meditation, the Hinayana paths and stages, and ethical commitments.

Mahayana: Compassion Without Limit (Nalandabodhi Study Curriculum 300 Level) follows the same sequence of view, path and fruition. The first view course is the Heart of Daring. Topics studied include: selflessness and compassion, the vision and application of bodhichitta, the stages of the path and enlightenment, and the spiritual friend. The second course, Everything Is Mind, includes an overview of the four philosophical schools, the eight consciousnesses, perception, concept, and the six realms. The third course, Not Even a Middle, looks at Nagarjuna and the Middle Way, the Madhyamaka Schools, and approaches to the two truths. These view courses are followed by two Mahayana path courses: Overview of the Path and Path and Fruition.

If you are interested in joining the Nalandabodhi study program please contact a study group in your area.





Home Study & Online Courses

If you do not live near a Nalandabodhi centre or study group we offer home study courses under the guidance of a study leader and online courses. To begin home study contact the study group that is geographically closest to you.

For information on online courses contact Stuart Horn at